Let’s talk vegetarian

There has lately been a huge focus on eating healthy food; high on protein, low carb, and low in fat. This is great, that a healthy life style and being strong is a trend. But this blog is not one of those. I made this blog to gather all my recipes during the years and share my passion for making food. I believe in making healthy and tasty food without counting calories and without being strict about what ingredients you use. I cook with what I have in my refrigerator  and I don’t weigh my food. That’s why a lot of my recipes are «a pinch of this and a pinch of that». Be inventive, creative and have fun at the kitchen and think colors!

Being a vegetarian or wanting to make more vegetarian food is not hard. It’s a healthy alternative and if you just want to change one meal a week with some vegetarian or change it to your life style that’s great! Making vegetarian food should be fun and I hope some of my recipes can inspire you.

B-12
With that being said, there are certain things one should have in mind when cooking vegetarian. I was born a vegetarian and grew up at the kitchen with my mum, so for me it’s natural to include the three food sources; carbs, vegetables and proteins. This tripartite division is important as we vegetarians can tend not to get enough proteins. There is no need to take supplements, except maybe B-12 vitamin. This can be hard to get through a vegetarian diet as the main source for this is through meat (but also dairy products). B-12 (cobalamin) is a vital vitamin and important for a normal nerve function and formation of blood cells (especially red blood cells).

The vitamin is not produced in the body and must be supplied through diet. A lack of B-12 can be difficult to detect, because it is often without symptoms. You can feel tired or have a lack of energy but because it’s hard to discover you should be aware of this as you’re cooking. As said dairy products such as milk, yoghurt and cheese contains a lot of cobalamin and this is important to eat during your day.

The tripartite division
Over to the three sources of food; carbs, vegetables and proteins. When I moved out to start studying and had to make my own food my mums voice has always followed me «have you remembered the rice, broccoli and the lentils?». This is very important. Your plate should always contain these ingredients. Carbs can be; potatoes, pasta, rice, couscous, bulgur, wraps etc. Usually all «white food» covers your need of carbs. Then it’s the «green food». This is the vegetables such as broccoli, cauliflower, zucchini, tomatoes, eggplant, asparagus, artichoke and so on. The last group is the «brown food» which is the legumes. This can be black-eyed peas, green peas, lentils, kidney beans, chick peas, soy beans, tofu and sprouts. These three groups have endless options!

Be inclusive
If you make sure to include some food from these three groups your diet and plate will be full. So will your stomach, heart and health. It’s not more complicated than that. I know it can be hard to take a step out from your food comfort zone, but I can promise you that you will get some great vegetarian experiences and your sense of taste will too. I always use a lot of spices and there is really no limits for what you can do. I will through this blog try to share some of my best tip and recipes. It’s not a blog for vegetarians but for everyone that wants to eat tasty, healthy and awesomely good food. I hope you like it! Bon appétit.

Legg igjen en kommentar

